Board of Directors

Mr. John Marinucci, CPA, CA, ICD.D.
Oakville, Ontario

Mr. Shaun Thorson
Past Chair
Chief Executive Officer, Skills Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Ms. Jacqueline Connell
Assistant Superintendent of Frontier School Division
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mr. David Lewis
OCTE Chair (Ontario Council for Technology Education)
Retired Instructional Coordinator for Technological Education and Pathways HDSB
Rockwood, Ontario

Mr. Doug Luciani, MBA, P.Eng., ICD.D
President and CEO CWB Group
Milton, Ontario

Ms. Bonnie Rose
President & CEO, TSSA
Toronto, Ontario

Ms. Sarah Watts-Rynard
Chief Executive Officer, Polytechnics Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Board Of Directors Volunteer Job Posting:

The CWB Welding Foundation is expanding our Board of Directors to better serve industry and labour needs across Canada. We are seeking referrals for experienced volunteer Board Members to join the Board of Directors for a two-year renewable term. It is our priority to have national representation that adds depth and value to the CWB Welding Foundation.

About the Foundation:

The CWB Welding Foundation is a Canadian national registered charity (#83634 0539 RR0001) that supports the welding industry by promoting the importance, attractiveness and significance of welding to the overall industry and the opportunities and benefits it provides individuals who pursue a career in welding. Through resourcing and augmenting the current Canadian educational systems with curriculum, safety and welding equipment and funding, we continue to reduce barriers that affect key groups; elementary, secondary, and post-secondary students and educators, Indigenous, women, and the underrepresented.

We envision a future where all individuals are encouraged and provided the support needed to reach their true potential in a career in welding, regardless of identity factors, social and financial status, and lived experiences including race, gender, age, ethnicity, language, literacy, culture, income, and geographical location.


ACCOUNTABILITY: The CWB Welding Foundation Board of Directors is collectively accountable to the organization as well as its members, community, funders and other stakeholders. They are accountable for the Foundation’s performance in relation to its mission and strategic objectives, and for the effective stewardship of financial and human resources.

AUTHORITY: Individual Board members have no authority to approve actions by the Foundation, to direct staff, or to speak on behalf for the Foundation unless given such authority by the Board.

TIME COMMITMENT: Four to six hours a month to participate in Board meetings and/or committees to prepare for Board meetings, and occasionally attend events. The Board meets four times per year.

TERM OF OFFICE: Two-year term, renewable.

RESPONSIBILITIES: To govern the Foundation by approving and overseeing strategy, risk management, as well as financial and talent management. To act in the best long-term interests of the Foundation mission, vision, and the community and will bring to the task of informed decision-making a broad knowledge and an inclusive perspective. If provided the oppourtunity to join as a Board Member, your responsibilities will include the following:

• Prepare for and participate in Board meetings;

• Listen to others’ views, advocate their own, identify common interests and alternatives, and be open to compromise;

• Support governance decisions once made;

• Participate in the review of the Foundation’s mission, objectives and annual strategic plan;

• Monitor the performance of the Foundation in relation to its mission, objectives, core values and reputation;

• Abide by the by-laws, code of conduct, conflict of interest and other polices that apply to the Board;

• Participate in the approval of the annual budget and monitor the financial performance of the Foundation;

• Participate in the hiring of, and if required, the releasing of, the Executive Director;

• Assist the staff wherever possible to raise funds to support the work of the Foundation by making introductions to potential funders such as Government or the private sector.

Those interested in applying should send a resume and a brief letter outlining your interest and experience to The Board welcomes applications from diverse candidates.

Address: CWB Welding Foundation, 8260 Parkhill Drive, Milton, ON, L9T 5V7

Charitable Registration #: [#83634 0539 RR0001]

For More information about the Foundation visit: