Building Awareness and Supporting Skills Development

We partner with secondary and post-secondary schools and community organizations to host Mind Over Metal camps that introduce welding to youth across Canada.

Building Awareness and Supporting Skills Development

CWB Welding Foundation is excited to announce the 2019-20 Welding Camps!

The 2019-20 program is supported by CWB Welding Foundation as well as three major Mind Over Metal camp sponsors including Enbridge (Regina, Balgonie), Bird Construction (Fairview), and the Ontario Council for Technology Education (OCTE) (Brantford). Other sponsors include Christian Labour Association of Canada (CLAC) (Prince Albert), Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission (SATCC) (Regina), Dumur Industries (Moose Jaw), Dr. Amy Thomas (Regina) and Sasktel (Prince Albert).

In-kind donations of personal protective equipment have been made by 3M, Praxair, and Rasco. We are very grateful for their involvement and support of this impactful initiative.

 

 

 

Camp Sponsors
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Personal Protective Equipment Donors

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also included on the list below are LNG Canada 'Arx and Sparx Welding Camps', which have been custom designed in partnership with LNG Canada.

Below you will find the list of camp locations, dates, and the contact information for registration. Each Camp will also be placing flyers locally within their community to recruit for participants.

For more information contact us at mindovermetal@cwbweldingfoundation.org and use #NewWelderNation to connect on our social media channels!

 

 

2019 Camp Locations
Location  Province Date  Camp Location  Target Audience Camp Contact Contact Email
Burnaby BC 6/17/2019 British Columbia Institute of Technology General Laurie Therrien Laurie_Therrien@bcit.ca
Saint John NB 6/24/2019 Harbour View High School General  Andrew Clarke andrew.clarke@nbed.nb.ca 
Winnipeg MB 7/2/2019 Tech Vocational High School General  Katrina Derbecker tpunton@wsd1.org 
New Liskeard ON 7/2/2019 Timiskaming District Secondary School General Chris Code chris.code@dsb1.ca
Fairview AB 7/8/2019 Grande Prairie Regional College General  Brian Carreau bcarreau@gprc.ab.ca 
Slave Lake  AB 7/8/2019 Northern Lakes College General  Brian Panasiuk  panasiuk@northernlakescollege.ca 
Fort Frances ONT 7/8/2019 Seven Generation Education Institute Indigenous  Don Eldridge  donel@7generations.org 
Gatineau QC 7/8/2019 École des métiers spécialisés Asticou  General  Julie Malette julie.malette@cspo.qc.ca 
Balgonie SK 7/8/2019 Greenall High School General  Gord Heidel gordon.heidel@rdiec.ca
Regina  SK  7/8/2019 Saskatchewan Polytechnic All Girls  Michelle Lanoie michelle.lanoie@saskpolytech.ca 
Calgary AB 7/15/2019 Bishop Grandin  Indigenous  Keith Routhier  keith.routhier@cssd.ab.ca
Brantford ON 7/15/2019 Six Nations Polytechnic Institute  Indigenous  Mary Fuke  mary.fuke@snpolytechnic.com  
Terrace BC 7/15/2019 Coast Mountain College Arx and Sparx Haley Thickett  HThickett@coastmountaincollege.ca
Prince Albert SK 7/15/2019 Saskatchewan Polytechnic All Girls  Tammie Pawlust tammie.pawlust@saskpolytech.ca 
Prince Rupert BC 7/22/2019 Coast Mountain College Arx and Sparx Haley Thickett  HThickett@coastmountaincollege.ca
Moose Jaw  SK 7/22/2019 Saskatchewan Polytechnic All Girls  Michelle Lanoie michelle.lanoie@saskpolytech.ca 
Kamloops BC 7/29/2019 Thompson Rivers University Arx and Sparx Dwayne Geiger  dgeiger@tru.ca
Surrey BC 8/12/2019 Kwantlen Polytech Arx and Sparx Al Sumal  al.sumal@kpu.ca 
Cowichan/Duncan BC 8/12/2019 Vancouver Island University  Arx and Sparx Mike Hallam Michael.Hallam@viu.ca
St. Stephen NB 8/12/2019 St. Stephen High School All Girls  Robb Wilson robb.wilson@nbed.nb.ca
Kitimat BC 8/26/2019 KVI Arx and Sparx Brent Sunshine  BSunshine@kves.ca
New Liskeard  ON 8/26/2019 Timiskaming District Secondary School General Chris Code  chris.code@dsb1.ca 
Thunder Bay ON 10/10/2019 Dennis Franklin Cromarty High School Indigenous  Ken Liddicoat Kliddicoat@nnec.on.ca 
Winnipeg MB 11/2/2019 RB Russell Vocational High School Indigenous  Mike Johnston  mijohnston@wsd1.org
Orangeville  ON 11/4//2019 Orangeville District Secondary School General Richard Alexander  richard.alexander@ugdsb.on.ca 

 

 

Please note that locations and dates are subject to change as needed by camp hosts and CWB Welding Foundation.